آموزش زبان انگلیسی

آموزش زبان انگلیسی , رایگان و تخصصی : آیلتس,تافل , توانایی صحبت کردن با لهجه های آمریکایی ,انگلیسی,مبتدی تاپیشرفته

آموزش زبان انگلیسی

آموزش زبان انگلیسی , رایگان و تخصصی : آیلتس,تافل , توانایی صحبت کردن با لهجه های آمریکایی ,انگلیسی,مبتدی تاپیشرفته

Playing up

The script for this programme


Rob: Hello and welcome to the English We Speak. My name is Rob.

Helen: And hello, my name is Helen.

Rob: Hold on Helen, hold on. We can't hear you properly. I think your microphone is playing up.

Helen: Playing up?

Rob: Sorry, I didn't quite catch that.

Helen: Let me just push this button. There! Hello. Now, you said the microphone was playing up?

Rob: That's right. It wasn't working properly. If something isn't working as it should be, we sometimes say it's playing up.
Helen: Up – not down?

Rob: Nope. Playing down is a different expression that means something totally different.

Helen: OK. So as the picture on my TV at home is flickering, I can say my TV is playing up?

Rob: Exactly. Let's hear about some other things that are playing up…

  • I don't think I'll be able to give you a lift to work today, my car's been playing up.
  • My phone keeps playing up. Every time I dial a number, it just switches itself off.


Helen: That sounds like my phone! So if something isn't doing what is should do then it's misbehaving?

Rob: Ha Ha! Well, you could say that. It's just like people. When they misbehave we can say they're playing up. Like this…

  • Sorry but I'm going to be late. The children have been playing up and I've still got so much to do.


Helen: Children are very good at playing up; it's usually because they want attention.

Rob: Now, Helen, could I have your attention now please because playing up is also something you can say to describe a part of your body that's not working properly.

  • Ow! I'm going to have to lie down; my back's playing up again.
  • Count me out of this weekend's football match; my leg's playing up so I need to rest it.


Helen: So it seems playing up refers to anything that's not working or behaving as it should. Now Rob, my leg's also been playing up so I wonder if you could give me a lift home in your car?

Rob: No way - oh it looks like my microphone's playing up now!

Helen: No Rob, it's you who's playing up - now switch it back on!

Rob: Oh, oh OK then Helen!

Helen: Let's go then. Bye!

Rob: Bye.