آموزش زبان انگلیسی

آموزش زبان انگلیسی , رایگان و تخصصی : آیلتس,تافل , توانایی صحبت کردن با لهجه های آمریکایی ,انگلیسی,مبتدی تاپیشرفته

آموزش زبان انگلیسی

آموزش زبان انگلیسی , رایگان و تخصصی : آیلتس,تافل , توانایی صحبت کردن با لهجه های آمریکایی ,انگلیسی,مبتدی تاپیشرفته

Khaled Hosseini - A Thousand Splendid Suns p3

I know what I want," Ma­ri­am sa­id to Jalil.

  It was the spring of 1974, the ye­ar Ma­ri­am tur­ned fif­te­en. The three of them we­re sit­ting out­si­de thekol­ba, in a patch of sha­de thrown by the wil­lows, on fol­ding cha­irs ar­ran­ged in a tri­ang­le.

  "For my birth­day…I know what I want."

  "You do?" sa­id Jalil, smi­ling en­co­ura­gingly.

  

Two we­eks be­fo­re, at Ma­ri­am's prod­ding, Jalil had let on that an Ame­ri­can film was pla­ying at his ci­ne­ma. It wasa spe­ci­al kind of film, what he'd cal­led a car­to­on. The en­ti­re film was a se­ri­es of dra­wings, he sa­id, tho­usands of them, so that when they we­re ma­de in­to a film and pro­j­ec­ted on­to a scre­en you had the il­lu­si­on that the dra­wings we­re mo­ving. Jalil sa­id the film told the story of an old, child­less toy­ma­ker who is lo­nely and des­pe­ra­tely wants a son. So he car­ves a pup­pet, a boy, who ma­gi­cal­ly co­mes to li­fe. Ma­ri­am had as­ked him to tell her mo­re, and Jalil sa­id that the old man and his pup­pet had all sorts of ad­ven­tu­res, that the­re was a pla­ce cal­led Ple­asu­re Is­land, and bad boys who tur­ned in­to don­keys. They even got swal­lo­wed by a wha­le at the end, the pup­pet and his fat­her. Ma­ri­am had told Mul­lah Fa­izul­lah all abo­ut this film.

 

  "I want you to ta­ke me to yo­ur ci­ne­ma," Ma­ri­am sa­id now. "I want to see the car­to­on. I want to see the pup­pet boy."

 

  With this, Ma­ri­am sen­sed a shift in the at­mosp­he­re. Her pa­rents stir­red in the­ir se­ats. Ma­ri­am co­uld fe­el them exc­han­ging lo­oks.

 

  "That's not a go­od idea," sa­id Na­na. Her vo­ice was calm, had the cont­rol­led, po­li­te to­ne she used aro­und Jalil, but Ma­ri­am co­uld fe­el her hard, ac­cu­sing gla­re.

  Jalil shif­ted on his cha­ir. He co­ug­hed, cle­ared his thro­at.

 

  "You know," he sa­id, "the pic­tu­re qu­ality isn't that go­od. Ne­it­her is the so­und. And the pro­j­ec­tor's be­en mal­func­ti­oning re­cently. May­be yo­ur mot­her is right. May­be you can think of anot­her pre­sent, Ma­ri­am jo."

 

  "Aneh,"Na­na sa­id. "You see? Yo­ur fat­her ag­re­es."

 

* * *

 

  But la­ter, at the stre­am, Ma­ri­am sa­id, "Ta­ke me."

 

  "I'll tell you what," Jalil sa­id. "I'll send so­me­one to pick you up and ta­ke you. I'll ma­ke su­re they get you a go­od se­at and all the candy you want."

 

  "Nay.Iwant you to ta­ke me."

 

  "Ma­ri­am jo-"

 

  "And I want you to in­vi­te my brot­hers and sis­ters too. I want to me­et them. I want us all to go, to­get­her. It's what I want."

 

  Jalil sig­hed. He was lo­oking away, to­ward the mo­un­ta­ins.

  Ma­ri­am re­mem­be­red him tel­ling her that on the scre­en a hu­man fa­ce lo­oked as big as a ho­use, that when a car cras­hed up the­re you felt the me­tal twis­ting in yo­ur bo­nes. She pic­tu­red her­self sit­ting in the pri­va­te bal­cony se­ats, lap­ping at ice cre­am, along­si­de her sib­lings and Jalil. "It's what I want," she sa­id.

 

  Jalil lo­oked at her with a for­lorn exp­res­si­on.

 

  "To­mor­row. At no­on. I'll me­et you at this very spot. All right? To­mor­row?"

  "Co­me he­re," he sa­id. He hun­ke­red down, pul­led her to him, and held her for a long, long ti­me.

 

* * *

 

  At first. Na­na pa­ced aro­und thekol­ba, clen­c­hing and unc­lenc­hing her fists.

  "Of all the da­ugh­ters I co­uld ha­ve had, why did God gi­ve me an ung­ra­te­ful one li­ke you? Everyt­hing I en­du­red for you! How da­re you! How da­re you aban­don me li­ke this, you tre­ac­he­ro­us lit­tleha­ra­mil"

  Then she moc­ked.

 

  "What a stu­pid girl you are! You think you mat­ter to him, that you're wan­ted in his ho­use? You think you're a da­ugh­ter to him? That he's go­ing to ta­ke you in? Let me tell you so­met­hing- A man's he­art is a wretc­hed, wretc­hed thing, Ma­ri­am. It isn't li­ke a mot­her's womb. It won't ble­ed, it won't stretch to ma­ke ro­om for you. I'm the only one who lo­ves you. I'm all you ha­ve in this world, Ma­ri­am, and when I'm go­ne you'll ha­ve not­hing. You'll ha­ve not­hing. Youare not­hing!"

  Then she tri­ed gu­ilt.

 

  "I'll die if you go.The jinn will co­me, and I'll ha­ve one of my fits. You'll see, I'll swal­low my ton­gue and die. Don't le­ave me, Ma­ri­am jo. Ple­ase stay. I'll die if you go."

 

  Ma­ri­am sa­id not­hing.

 

  "You know I lo­ve you, Ma­ri­am jo."

 

  Ma­ri­am sa­id she was go­ing for a walk.

 

  She fe­ared she might say hurt­ful things if she sta­yed: that she knewthe jinn was a lie, that Jalil had told her that what Na­na had was a di­se­ase with a na­me and that pills co­uld ma­ke it bet­ter. She might ha­ve as­ked Na­na why she re­fu­sed to see Jalil's doc­tors, as he had in­sis­ted she do, why she wo­uldn't ta­ke the pills he'd bo­ught for her. If she co­uld ar­ti­cu­la­te it, she might ha­ve sa­id to Na­na that she was ti­red of be­ing an inst­ru­ment, of be­ing li­ed to, la­id cla­im to, used. That she was sick of Na­na twis­ting the truths of the­ir li­fe and ma­king her, Ma­ri­am, anot­her of her gri­evan­ces aga­inst the world.

 

  You 're af­ra­id, Na­na,she might ha­ve sa­id.You 're af­ra­id that 1 might find the hap­pi­ness you ne­ver had. And you don 'i want me to be happy. You don't want a go­od li­fe for me. You 're the one with the wretc­hed he­art

 

* * *

 

  The­re was A lo­oko­ut, on the ed­ge of the cle­aring, whe­re Ma­ri­am li­ked to go. She sat the­re now, on dry, warm grass. He­rat was vi­sib­le from he­re, spre­ad be­low her li­ke a child's bo­ard ga­me: the Wo­men's Gar­den to the north of the city, Char-suq Ba­za­ar and the ru­ins of Ale­xan­der the Gre­at's old ci­ta­del to the so­uth. She co­uld ma­ke out the mi­na­rets in the dis­tan­ce, li­ke the dusty fin­gers of gi­ants, and the stre­ets that she ima­gi­ned we­re mil­ling with pe­op­le, carts, mu­les. She saw swal­lows swo­oping and circ­ling over­he­ad. She was en­vi­o­us of the­se birds. They had be­en to He­rat. They had flown over its mos­qu­es, its ba­za­ars. May­be they had lan­ded on the walls of Jalil's ho­me, on the front steps of his ci­ne­ma.

 

  She pic­ked up ten peb­bles and ar­ran­ged them ver­ti­cal­ly, in three co­lumns. This was a ga­me that she pla­yed pri­va­tely from ti­me to ti­me when Na­na wasn't lo­oking. She put fo­ur peb­bles in the first co­lumn, for Kha­di­ja's child­ren, three for Af­so­on's, and three in the third co­lumn for Nar­gis's child­ren. Then she ad­ded a fo­urth co­lumn. A so­li­tary, ele­venth peb­ble.

 

* * *

 

  The next mor­ning, Ma­ri­am wo­re a cre­am-co­lo­red dress that fell to her kne­es, cot­ton tro­users, and a gre­enhi­j­ab over her ha­ir. She ago­ni­zed a bit over thehi­j­ab, its be­ing gre­en and not matc­hing the dress, but it wo­uld ha­ve to do-moths had eaten ho­les in­to her whi­te one.

 

  She chec­ked the clock. It was an old hand-wo­und clock with black num­bers on a mint gre­en fa­ce, a pre­sent from Mul­lah Fa­izul­lah. It was ni­ne o'clock. She won­de­red whe­re Na­na was. She tho­ught abo­ut go­ing out­si­de and lo­oking for her, but she dre­aded the conf­ron­ta­ti­on, the ag­gri­eved lo­oks. Na­na wo­uld ac­cu­se her of bet­ra­yal. She wo­uld mock her for her mis­ta­ken am­bi­ti­ons.

 

  Ma­ri­am sat down. She tri­ed to ma­ke ti­me pass by dra­wing an elep­hant in one stro­ke, the way Jalil had shown her, over and over. She be­ca­me stiff from all the sit­ting but wo­uldn't lie down for fe­ar that her dress wo­uld wrink­le.

 

  When the hands fi­nal­ly sho­wed ele­ven-thirty, Ma­ri­am poc­ke­ted the ele­ven peb­bles and went out­si­de. On her way to the stre­am, she saw Na­na sit­ting on a cha­ir, in the sha­de, be­ne­ath the do­med ro­of of a we­eping wil­low. Ma­ri­am co­uldn't tell whet­her Na­na saw her or not.

 

  At the stre­am, Ma­ri­am wa­ited by the spot they had ag­re­ed on the day be­fo­re. In the sky, a few gray, ca­ulif­lo­wer-sha­ped clo­uds drif­ted by. Jalil had ta­ught her that gray clo­uds got the­ir co­lor by be­ing so den­se that the­ir top parts ab­sor­bed the sun­light and cast the­ir own sha­dow along the ba­se.That's what you see, Ma­ri­am jo, he had sa­id,the dark in the­ir un­der­bel­ly.

 

  So­me ti­me pas­sed.

 

  Ma­ri­am went back to thekol­ba This ti­me, she wal­ked aro­und the west-fa­cing pe­rip­hery of the cle­aring so she wo­uldn't ha­ve to pass by Na­na. She chec­ked the clock. It was al­most one o'clock.

 

  He's a bu­si­nes­sman,Ma­ri­am tho­ught.So­met­hing has co­me up.

 

  She went back to the stre­am and wa­ited aw­hi­le lon­ger. Black­birds circ­led over­he­ad, dip­ped in­to the grass so­mew­he­re. She watc­hed a ca­ter­pil­lar inc­hing along the fo­ot of an im­ma­tu­re thist­le.

 

  She wa­ited un­til her legs we­re stiff. This ti­me, she did not go back to thekol­ba She rol­led up the legs of her tro­users to the kne­es, cros­sed the stre­am, and, for the first ti­me in her li­fe, he­aded down the hill for He­rat.

 

* * *

 

  Na­na was "wrong abo­ut He­rat too. No one po­in­ted. No one la­ug­hed. Ma­ri­am wal­ked along no­isy, crow­ded, cypress-li­ned bo­ule­vards, amid a ste­ady stre­am of pe­dest­ri­ans, bicyc­le ri­ders, and mu­le-drawnga­ris, and no one threw a rock at her. No one cal­led her aha­ra­mi. Hardly an­yo­ne even lo­oked at her. She was, unex­pec­tedly, mar­ve­lo­usly, an or­di­nary per­son he­re.

 

  For a whi­le, Ma­ri­am sto­od by an oval-sha­ped po­ol in the cen­ter of a big park whe­re peb­ble paths cris­scros­sed. With won­der, she ran her fin­gers over the be­a­uti­ful marb­le hor­ses that sto­od along the ed­ge of the po­ol and ga­zed down at the wa­ter with opa­que eyes. She spi­ed on a clus­ter of boys who we­re set­ting sa­il to pa­per ships. Ma­ri­am saw flo­wers everyw­he­re, tu­lips, li­li­es, pe­tu­ni­as, the­ir pe­tals awash in sun­light. Pe­op­le wal­ked along the paths, sat on benc­hes and sip­ped tea.

 

  Ma­ri­am co­uld hardly be­li­eve that she was he­re. Her he­art was bat­te­ring with ex­ci­te­ment. She wis­hed Mul­lah Fa­izul­lah co­uld see her now. How da­ring he wo­uld find her. How bra­ve! She ga­ve her­self over to the new li­fe that awa­ited her in this city, a li­fe with a fat­her, with sis­ters and brot­hers, a li­fe in which she wo­uld lo­ve and be lo­ved back, wit­ho­ut re­ser­va­ti­on or agen­da, wit­ho­ut sha­me.

 

  Sprightly, she wal­ked back to the wi­de tho­ro­ugh­fa­re ne­ar the park. She pas­sed old ven­dors with le­at­hery fa­ces sit­ting un­der the sha­de of pla­ne tre­es, ga­zing at her im­pas­si­vely be­hind pyra­mids of cher­ri­es and mo­unds of gra­pes. Ba­re­fo­ot boys ga­ve cha­se to cars and bu­ses, wa­ving bags of qu­in­ces. Ma­ri­am sto­od at a stre­et cor­ner and watc­hed the pas­sersby, unab­le to un­ders­tand how they co­uld be so in­dif­fe­rent to the mar­vels aro­und them.

 

  After a whi­le, she wor­ked up the ner­ve to ask the el­derly ow­ner of a hor­se-drawnga­ri if he knew whe­re Jalil, the ci­ne­ma's ow­ner, li­ved. The old man had plump che­eks and wo­re a ra­in­bow-stri­pedcha­pan. "You're not from He­rat, are you?" he sa­id com­pa­ni­onably. "Ever­yo­ne knows whe­re Jalil Khan li­ves."

 

  "Can you po­int me?"

 

  He ope­ned a fo­il-wrap­ped tof­fee and sa­id, "Are you alo­ne?"

 

  "Yes."

 

  "Climb on. I'll ta­ke you."

 

  "I can't pay you. I don't ha­ve any mo­ney."

 

  He ga­ve her the tof­fee. He sa­id he hadn't had a ri­de in two ho­urs and he was plan­ning on go­ing ho­me any­way. Jalil's ho­use was on the way.

 

  Ma­ri­am clim­bed on­to thega­ri. They ro­de in si­len­ce, si­de by si­de. On the way the­re, Ma­ri­am saw herb shops, and open-fron­ted cub­byho­les whe­re shop­pers bo­ught oran­ges and pe­ars, bo­oks, shawls, even fal­cons. Child­ren pla­yed marb­les in circ­les drawn in dust. Out­si­de te­aho­uses, on car­pet-co­ve­red wo­oden plat­forms, men drank tea and smo­ked to­bac­co from ho­okahs.

  The old man tur­ned on­to a wi­de, co­ni­fer-li­ned stre­et. He bro­ught his hor­se to a stop at the mid­way po­int.

 

  "The­re. Lo­oks li­ke you're in luck,dok­hi­arjo. That's his car."

  Ma­ri­am hop­ped down. He smi­led and ro­de on.